Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks: Nick blogs about all the practical experience he is getting for his T4TS Course

Nick Sims is training to become an electrician with Train4TradeSkills and blogs for us about what he is getting up to with his course. In his fifth blog, Nick talks about all the practical experience he is getting:

After completing the sockets in the kitchen at my mum and dads I’ve had been given another task to do, as they were very happy with the result.

The garage needed a new bayonet light socket, so I said I’d do the wiring for it as well. The old wiring was black and red and the switch in there was a plastic 1970’s one.

So during the week I set-up the wiring and the routing until I could get the switch mounted securely to the concrete wall. The mains was fed from a small metal DB box, which had two re-wireable fuses in it. I wasn’t that confident in doing this job when I first saw it, I must admit.

Anyway I left it for a couple of days as my parents were going away for the weekend, we made arrangements for me to finish it off the following week.

I went to my parents on the Wednesday after coming back from Newport, where I bought an Ethos voltage/continuity tester, which cost £48, as I was using my multimeter before.

I stripped back all the cable ends off and installed the circuit in the garage with success. But a plonker that I can be sometimes I asked my parents for a light bulb, but they had already inserted one! My excuse is that the bayonet part of the circuit I had already done so concentrated on the rest! Honest! All worked, as it should, so I’m really pleased.

I found this really valuable as it’s put me into different situations, like the garage, I worked on it when it was getting dark, fortunately I own a strap on head lamp, so that gave me a taster as to what it might be like working in attics or under the stairs.

The kitchen where it was a little awkward to get to the points, and my knees took a little bit of a pounding, but that’s ok. It’s great fun, seriously, and I really enjoy doing the work, even though it was for free!

I’ve enclosed some photos of the jobs I did, one of the rigs I’ve done at home – two way lighting circuit with intermediate switch.

I’ll enclose some from the training centre in Southampton when I’m back there.

That’s it till next time.

For more stories from Nick go to our Bright Sparks Blog and you can follow him on Twitter.

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on February 2, 2011, in electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, train4tradeskills, Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Nick.
    Sounds like the study’s starting to pay off, and the more hands on the better! Hope more comes your way soon. Keep the blogs coming! :)

  2. Thanks Amanda, hopefully there’s more in the pipeline, and there’s definately more to do at my parents!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

