Tommy Walsh shares his “Trade Secrets” with new DIY advice site

Celebrity builder Tommy Walsh has launched a website which is aimed at getting you the best deals if you are looking to build new building tools and materials.

Builders Merchant Journal report that Walsh, who is best known for starring in BBC’s Ground Force, has helped launch, which includes the latest DIY and construction tools, ranging from power-tools and hand-tools to workwear.

As well as being a price comparison website, there is a section called “Tommy’s Trade Secrets”, which contains a series of video diaries from Tommy on how to do basically everything associated with DIY.

Tommy’s Deals is another place on the site where the celebrity builder picks his tools of the week and offers advice for you if you need to buy some tools for your trade.

The main benefit of this site is the expert advice from arguably Britain’s most famous builder. DIY is a huge industry and the skill level of homeowners range from the extremely competent to complete novices, so the advice should come in handy. Tommy said in a statement:

“In we have site which not only stores a large catalogue of products, but can be used as a resource for DIYers who need practical home – be it a lesson on how to plaster a wall or hang a door.”

To have a look at Tommy Walsh’s advice on DIY jobs, go to

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on February 17, 2011, in electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, plumbing, plumbing courses, plumbing jobs, train4tradeskills and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. tommy can you help i stuck polytheine on my wall and wallpaped over it breaking the polytheine joints but it slit on every wallpaper joints can you help

  2. Wow, finally the trade secrets of Tommy Walsh. I’m so excited about this. I’m going to tell my friends about this. Thanks for the post.

  3. This new website is great. i am relatively a novice at DIY and unfortuneatly i am one of those people who have to be shown something several times ususally before i learn it properly I have seen many of Tommy’s diy shows on discovery and find most of them quite useful. Having these videos to refer back to will help me immensly and i have some projects that i need to tackle quite soon. We cant really afford tradesmen at the minute unless it is for things that require it so this site will be of great benefit to me. I have been hoping you would do something like this for a few years.
    Well done

  4. hi Tommy Walsh , i have very small kitchen I’m struggling to be in,and to far from my living area can you help please,thankyou

  5. Dear Tommy,Can u please advise me about kitchen which due to personal and financial has not been decorated for over 30 years. I would dearly love to tile the floor but have been told that it must be screeded first. Is there any other way of leveling the floor that i could try. I have done odd diy jobs over the years but i’m a bit worried about tackling this job. One of my children is disabled so mot being able to use the kitchen facilities while screed dries is not an option. The flooring is brown and some sort of composite that leaves dents if something heavy is put on it. I would be grateful for your comments.

  6. Anyone used the paint pad pro that tommy advertises on the shopping channels? was thinking of buying one, done a little research online but it has got some very bad reviews looks great on the ads though, and would make my life a lot easier with all the painting I will be doing soon if it works as good as they say in the ads.

  7. Just watched your program on laying laminate flooring , you did not show what was involved in the cutting and fitting of the when you get to the more awkward cuts eg around pipes and door frames and also fitting the last piece where you join to to pieces together where they slot in to the front board and to the side of the board . any advice would be great .
    Cheer’s Tommy


  8. Dear Tommy, I was intrigued by your eco house project on TV where you built in 60 days for £60k. did you produce a book with details of the build and the costings involved, If so I would very much like to read it as I have a similar project in mind on plot in my garden
    William Tindal

  9. ref eco house any comments?

  10. Hi there, I discovered your website by way of Google while looking for a similar matter, your site came up, it seems to be good. I’ve bookmarked to favourites|added to my bookmarks.

  11. Hi Tommy
    I have removed years of white paint from a door frame using a heat gun. I am considering using a dark stain in future. Although the paint has been removed there is still a white resudue left. How do I prepare the wood for the wood stain.

  12. watched your programme on the cottage with a well under the floor. I have just discovered one under my kitchen/dining room extension.I need suitable lighting and a glass cover. Any suggestions where these might be sourced especially the lighting

  13. can i screw plasterboards to a brick wall .

  14. anyone know where i can get advice on what to do with a large uphill sloping chalf soil garden, facing the south downs and backing onto a field so very windy, very hilly and very chalky, im lost have no idea a women on her own where do i start,

  15. Hi Tommy,could you please give me some advice for my son? Martin is 19years old and a qualified cabinet maker,he has tried everything possible to get work but without success. He’s even offered to work for nothing if someone would just give him a chance. I hope you can help him Tommy,he’s not asking for much,just a chance to prove himself. Thank you.

  16. Hi Tommy, where can I buy replacement large pads for your pro pad system ?

  17. hi tommy,please could you tell me what the light roofing tiles are called that ,you had
    on one of your programmes .my husband would like to know thank you .

  18. hi tommy can you please tell me what regulations you needed for the construction of timber cladd granny annexe in the back garden of one of your tv programmes thanks

  19. Tommy, you advertise a mitre tool for corners in your Your Tube ad – it is blue and looks like plastic yOU say I can buy this off your site but I have spent over an hour looking for one. the size of the coving is 135mm. Can you let me know where I can get one as a matter of urgency.

  20. tommy me and my wife have got 50.000 quid and planning permission to build a house on our land could you help put us on your programme build your house for free pretty please

  21. love to appear on your show 50.000 to build a new home mate

  22. hi tommy just been watchin challenge tommy , kitchen pt 2 and 3 .i love your programme but i have some concerns about what information your giving to people about tiling . i’m a tiler and work for myself and a ceramic company and feel the need to pull you on a couple of points , sorry . My main issue is your grouting on the kitchen floor , that was a big no no . The consistency of your floor grout was completly wrong , by mixing your grout that slopy you are making a very weak grout mixture . It may make it easy to grout but your grout will always b weak and never harden as strong as a thicker grout .The chemicals in grout are designed to do a certain job and therefore need the correct mixing ratio of water to powder . Never be tempted to make a slopy grout to make your life easy , tilers that do that are lazy and it’s just wrong . My second point is on your wall tiling , when you said centre the wall ,that was correct but you didn’t do it for biggest cut . So you ended up with small cuts in the corners . What you should do is when you’ve centred the wall work out if grout joint or centre of tile gives you the biggest cut to the corner , that you didn’t do . There are certain exceptions but that should be your main rule . sorry to pull you tommy but just thought i should being as your giving info to the public . None of us are to old to pick up new tips and ways , every days a school day eh tom . Cheers tommy and all the best jon the tiler .


  24. could tommy do a delia smith and start at the begining what screws,woodetc to use teach people the very basics like delia boiling an egg

  25. Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information
    you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information.

    Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers

