Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks: Nick’s back with his latest electrical blog

Train4TradeSkills Nick ElectricianNick Sims is training to become an electrician with Train4TradeSkills. Nick blogs about how he is finding his electrical course and all the practical experience he is undertaking.

In his last electrical blog, Nick was talking about the electrical experience he was getting working on his parents’ house. Here’s Nick’s latest Bright Sparks Blog:

Hello again, I have been a bit busy lately so sorry for the delay in the blog update.

I’ve been reading up on the 2391 Inspections and Testing book. I acquired this through The IET library, it’s a bit early to read at the moment but I wanted to know what is ahead.

I’ve nearly finished module 13, I’ve completed all the progress checks successfully, 11 of them. There’s a 60 question TMA to do, and I’m a just few questions away from completing that also. It’s reasonably difficult as I am finding that I’m sifting through the BS7671 manual, bit by bit.

It’s a little frustrating, as you really need to use the question to find the title, to find the section to get to the answer. This was similar to when I did my week 2 practical training; we had a 60 question paper to complete and that was all about BS7671 and Inspection and Testing, with a couple of calculations to do thrown in.

I’ve enclosed a few pictures of when I did my week one training, which involved creating lighting circuits, one-way, two-way, down lighter and intermediate.

Nick getting electrical trainingIn the next couple of weeks or so, I’m going to make another rig, this time I’m making the central heating system. I’ve got some old parts, like the valve and PCB that I think work, and I need a new room thermostat, so I’ll replace my old one with the new, so watch his space as hopefully as I progress with it.

Till next time.

Nick

You can read all of Nick’s posts on the Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks Blog, and you can follow Nick on Twitter at www.twitter.com/flyingsparkie

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on February 22, 2011, in electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, train4tradeskills, Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Nick
    How are you finding the training to be an electrician.

  2. Good overview, I would also recommend getting hold of a copy of ‘The Code of Practice for In-Service Inspection and Testing of Electrical Equipment’ which can be bought from most online bookstores.

Leave a Reply

