Matt wins Train4TradeSkills Student of the Month Award for February

The Train4TradeSkills Student for the Month Awards for February have been announced, where the most deserving students wins £200 in vouchers. The second and third place students win £100 and £50 respectively.

The top three students for February were:

1st Place:

Matthew Norman, from Surrey

Matt wins the top prize this month, and works for a plumbing company while studying with Train4TradeSkills.

I am on the plumbing course, and in full-time employment for a plumbing company. Last Friday night I received a phone call from the boss of an emergency job and to take another lad and drive from London to Brighton mid rush-hour.

There were reports of a leak coming through the ceiling from the loft. I loaded up with a range of tools and fittings expecting anything.

The full story from Matt will be available on the Train4TradeSkills Blog tomorrow, so you can read it on here then.

2nd Place:

Paul McGarraghy, from Bury

 Paul wins second place and talks about how he has been using the skills acquired from his Train4TradeSkills Plumbing course when working on his new home.

Since buying my first home late last year, I’ve now completely revamped the water system. I installed a completely new central heating system, replacing the old gas heaters, with a gas safe plumber doing the work I’m not qualified to do.

I have also installed a brand new bathroom, including new pipe-work, tiling and suite. I also renovated a small room downstairs, and have installed a new toilet and basin. The kitchen isn’t yet done, but the first fix has been carried out.

I originally started the course with the intention of working for someone else, or for a bathroom fitting company. But since doing work for friends and family, putting what I learned into practice, word is spreading and I’m starting to get work from people I didn’t know before. I am still doing my day job, but my focus is changing slightly and, being able to start up my own business is looking more realistic. I feel more confident with my plumbing work with each job I do, and always get a sense of satisfaction when I complete a task, no matter how big or small. This is made even better when I see the smile on my customers faces.

3rd Place:

Ian Nicholson, from Leeds

I run a busy workshop servicing and repairing 83 HGV and Refuse vehicles and for the past few months the workshop has been running at 75% strength, this has meant that as foreman I have been working 12 -14 hour shifts to complete the work. In addition to this, with the help of my son who’s just qualified as a plumber, I have fitted a new bathroom suite (which was completed in 1 day) and am in the process of tiling it. But in spite of this I’ve still maintained my studying (even doing so in my lunch break) and am getting marks in the 90% range.

If you would like to enter the Train4TradeSkills Student of the Month competition for March go to Student World at http://tma.t4ts.com/ and submit your story of what you have been up to recently.

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on March 10, 2011, in construction jobs, construction news, Electrical News, electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, plumbing, plumbing courses, plumbing jobs, Plumbing News, train4tradeskills, Train4TradeSkills Student of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

