Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks: Nick blogs about test rigs, his new website and electrical training

Train4TradeSkills Nick ElectricianNick Sims is training to become an electrician and is one of our Train4TradeSkills student bloggers. Every week Nick tells us how he is finding his course and what he’s been up to.

Here’s Nick’s latest blog:

Well to start I’ve reviewed all the work I’ve done since November 2009. I looked back on what I’ve accomplished, it’s rather astounding the amount of work that’s been put in, to get this far.

From the very beginning I made little test rigs, then on to bigger ones and told others about it, who have seemed to follow suit, which is really great. You don’t have to pay out a lot for any equipment really; it’s just finding the time to complete projects.

Just by going to your local Electricity board, or Gas board engineers (the one’s that visit your home to do the checks) you can ask for old or obsolete items quite easily, many are cooperative and hand gadgets and bits to you for free, so long as you tell them what it’s for, that’s how I started.

And some time ago, I mentioned going to B&Q, they usually have some sort of sale going on in the electrical department.

This also brings me onto what else I’ve been doing, I’ve updated my website with a new video of one of my first rigs that simulated a water valve turning on via a timer switch and a 240V fan, and an example of isolation on the board (240V stepper motor attached to a switch which operated an infra-red emitter led to an infra-red receiver) the only sounds you get are me switching things on and off, and no commentary so sorry about that)

I’ve also added a few more pictures, heating rig that myself and another completed in Southampton and some pictures of a light strip in my parents kitchen that I installed, which was originally a fluorescent tube, you’ll notice an existing mark in the ceiling as to where it was.

I’ve been in touch with my regular Heating Engineers to see if they’ve got any old thermostats and valves, so I’m just waiting for them to get back to me on that.

In other news, I received my TMA14 and scored 90% which I’m really pleased with, although one of the questions that I did get wrong should have put more thought into it, and the other wrong question was a silly mistake – this can be a little frustrating as I end up kicking myself because of it!!!

Nevertheless I’m still ploughing through the workbook and progress checks with great vigour, so I feel quite on top of it all right now.

Till next time.

Nick

You can have a look at Nick’s website at http://www.nicksims.org.uk/  and follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/flyingsparkie

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on March 22, 2011, in Electrical News, electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, train4tradeskills, Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

