Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks: Daniel talks internet problems, electrical training and studying tips in latest blog

Daniel Miller is training to become an electrician with Train4TradeSkills and is one of our student bloggers. The Stockport trainee is back with his latest blog after weeks of no internet and tells us what’s going on with his course.

Read Daniel’s latest blog here:

I finally have my internet back on and we are finally settling into our house. Things are getting straight , and it doesn’t look like a bomb site, which helps.

To be honest it’s not been a good couple of weeks for my studying and trying to balance it between my full-time job at the newsagents. My boss is off at the moment which means I have to put more hours in to cover him. Since my working day starts at 5am and finishes at 6:45pm, it tends to be a long day, which leaves me not much time to study, never mind anything else.

Unfortunately I haven’t heard from the electrician yet, but I’m hoping he will get in touch soon. I know he had a job down south he was working on. That time with him would be valuable to my hands on experience, I’m hoping to work at least one day a week with him in the near future.

I am also going to start thinking about contacting other companies in the Stockport area, to see if they would possibly help me to gain some hands on experience.

At the moment I’m working towards module nine, which covers my first two weeks of practical at one of the assessment centres. I am a bit nervous about that and at the same time looking forward to it. All the practical sessions and the tests at the end of the weeks, but that will mean I am one step nearer towards my goal to becoming a domestic electrical installer.

I will be assessed as well on the objective qualification “Essential Elecrtics” in the first week and the second week I will be assessed on the objective qualification “Part P Defined Scope”, which I aim to be fully prepared for.

Since starting this course I have met a couple of fellow students and reading their blogs inspires me further. I feel we are kind of helping each other so to speak, sharing our issues, experiences and long may it continue. For me now it is full steam ahead studying module nine, revising the practical tasks which I am expected to do.

When I first read about what was expected of me, I knew what I had to do in a way. It’s not being cocky or anything, the way the training is set out it makes it easy to learn , but as my fellow students have mentioned, there is so much to take in and remember, and all these facts and figures.

I’m not taking anything for granted though, I need to make sure and that is what i will do in every aspect. The secret for me is little and often, so I retain the information better. I also have drawn up some blank diagrams of various types of electrical supplies. I fill in the blanks and check against the copies in the training manual, it’s just good practice and keeps me thinking about electrical terms.

I have got plenty of reading to do as well as my Study Library increases, and it helps to refresh key points I learnt in earlier modules. I also need to update myself with the various websites, regarding my course and fellow students.

You can follow Daniel on Twitter at http://twitter.com/Daniel___Miller

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on April 1, 2011, in Electrical News, electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, train4tradeskills, Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice blog, youll enjoy the practical weeks, theres alot of on hand help when youre there too. so dont get too tied up with complicated calcs.
    regards
    Nick

Leave a Reply

