Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks: Nick talks electrical dilemmas, CV’s and studying in latest blog

Train4TradeSkills Nick ElectricianNick Sims is training to become an electrician with Train4TradeSkills. If you are a regular reader of Nick’s blog, you will know all about the electrical experience he is getting outside his course and the work he is doing.

You can follow Nick on Twitter at www.twitter.com/flyingsparkie  and his website featuring some of his work at http://nicksims.org.uk/

Well I’ve been fairly busy the past week and half or so. Both the Monday bank holidays I’ve done a car boot sale with my girlfriend, we’ve made a nice bit of pocket money so I’m pleased about that.

I finished module 16 and the TMA has been sent back which I’m also really pleased with, with a score of 90%.

I don’t think that I’ll hear anything further from the Gas engineers, so I’ll be on the look-out for bits and bobs at car boots in the following weeks.

My CV is now up to date now, to reflect the further qualifications that I’ve got from doing this course so far.

I’ve completed a task in module 16, which required you to design a layout diagram using BS EN60617 Electrical symbols. I’ve done the layout of my flat, I found this to be really interesting because I now know where every single socket is, the drawing is also to scale, which at first was a little difficult to get my head around but managed it none the less.

I’ve done a little bit more work for my parents, which involved installing another light switch in one bedroom but also could be turned off from the adjacent one. I started to look for where the cables need to go, but have come to a halt as to what to do next. The chase in the wall is too small for me to drop another cable down, so I think I need to drill a hole in the wall from one switch straight threw to the other, in the adjacent bedroom.

If anyone has any ideas, as to whether this is good practice, or know of any other work around, it would be appreciated. Of course if my parents didn’t mind ripping the wallpaper off, I would have been able to do this easily.

In the mean time I’m keeping my head down and in the books, no sweat.

Till next time.

Nick

Got any advice for Nick on how to deal with his electrical dilemma? Comment on here and let us know your thoughts below.

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on May 11, 2011, in Electrical News, electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, train4tradeskills, Train4TradeSkills Bright Sparks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

