Train4TradeSkills students give you advice on how to get work placements

Are you training to be a plumber or electrician with Train4TradeSkills and want to get some practical experience outside of your course? T4TS Radio has spoken to a number of students who are working in the industry alongside their training and gaining valuable experience.

These students offer their advice and tips of how they managed to get work placements and jobs, so you can follow in their footsteps.

Here are the students and the excerpts from their T4TS Radio interviews. All of the interviews are available to listen to at www.audioboo.fm/train4tradeskills and you can read and download the stories via Scribd at www.scribd.com/train4tradeskills

Michael Parish

You mentioned that you’ve got a bit of plumbing experience. What sort of experience have you been getting outside of your course then?

I’ve started my own little part-time business working for a couple of landlords and a builder, just working with another plumber onsite doing bathrooms and one-off emergency callouts, that sort of thing, to start with. And it’s just sort of grown from there.

So I know once I’ve finished my course that I’ve got some work to actually start, bathrooms and other bits and pieces, and after that I’m going to be trying to do my gas as well, because landlords certificates I’ve been asked to do recently by the landlords that I’ve done the bathrooms for, so there’s definitely going to be work in the pipeline for me as well, so it’s definitely worth carrying on and progressing further.

Can you tell us a bit about how you got that experience then – did you approach those landlords? How did it work?

Basically what I did to begin with is I started the course and because we rent a place anyway, I went to see the landlord and said to him I was doing a plumbing course and if he had some small jobs come up, give us a look because I’d like to get myself up and running. And within a few days he began piling quite a bit of work on me and he was happy with the results, and he told other people and it’s just sort of gone from there really.

Listen to Michael’s interview from T4TS Radio at http://audioboo.fm/boos/346887-train4tradeskills-student-michael-parish-talks-to-tom-jinks

 

Aston Skinner

Have you been getting any practical experience outside your course?

Yes, I’ve actually got an apprenticeship, so I work alongside a plumbing and heating engineer five days a week, so I get a lot of experience out on-site as well.

Would you be able to tell us a bit about how you got that plumbing apprenticeship?

With my job before I worked in a merchant so I knew a lot of plumbers that were coming in and out of the shop and I went round asking people that I got to know and it took me a while and eventually someone said to me I am looking for an apprentice now and it went from there.

Listen to Aston’s interview from T4TS Radio at http://audioboo.fm/boos/323305-train4tradeskills-student-aston-skinner-from-ashford-shares-his-story

 

Victor Bryce

Have you been getting any plumbing experience outside your course – have you been doing any practical work?

I have, and now I’ve been doing my own bits at home and some bits with a plumber I know. So I’m hoping to work with him at a later stage. My thing is I wanted to learn rather than just be shown how to do stuff. I wanted to learn why things have to be done in a particular way.

Listen to Victor’s Interview from T4TS Radio at http://audioboo.fm/boos/281406-train4tradeskills-student-victor-bryce-shares-his-story

 

Michael Phillips

Have you been doing any practical work outside your course – have you been getting any electrical experience anywhere?

Yeah, I’ve managed to find a job as a trainee electrician and I work for a company that is mainly an electrical contractors, but they do a bit of building and that, as well. So I help them with the building, which is what I know, and they help me with the electrical side.

Listen to Michael’s interview from T4TS Radio at http://audioboo.fm/boos/278634-train4tradeskills-student-michael-phillips-shares-his-story 

 

John Evans

When you have finished your course and got your qualifications, what are your plans then?

I’ve recently got a new job, which is fitting solar panels. I told them about my plan and the course that I’m on and they said as soon as I get to the relevant level in my electrician’s course, as soon as a position becomes available, I can move across to that. Which is absolutely superb and exactly what I’m looking for.

Listen to John’s interview from T4TS Radio at http://audioboo.fm/boos/259777-train4tradeskills-student-john-evans-shares-his-story

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on May 12, 2011, in construction jobs, construction news, Electrical News, electrician, electrician courses, electrician jobs, plumbing, plumbing courses, plumbing jobs, Plumbing News, train4tradeskills and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

