Cliff talks Electrical modules and Virtual reality scenarios in latest blog

As you will know if you are a regular reader of his blog, Cliff Raw is training to become a plumber with Train4TradeSkills and is one of our student bloggers.

You can take a look at Cliff’s blog at www.plumbing-student.blogspot.com  and follow him on Twitter at www.twitter.com/crawtec

This week’s post is on module 26 Electricity, some of which we covered earlier in module 4 Key Plumbing Principles.

I completed this module without much difficulty as it was more of a recap and when we covered this subject in module 4 I went to the trouble of getting a copy of the 17th Edition Wiring Regulations and part P of the building regulations – thrilling reading as you can imagine.

My brother is an electrician so I was able to pick his brains on the subject and as the majority of the module was dealing with domestic electrical installation, earth continuity, testing and decommissioning. It was very useful to have someone with the amount of experience that my brother has. Not only that but he has all the testing equipment, so I got to have a go at the real thing under his watchful eyes which is the way I learn best.

What I am struggling with is the electrical scenario CD which I find very frustrating, maybe because I am using quite an old laptop and the software runs very slowly, A wise man once said “perseverance is preferable” so I will battle on with it until I get it cracked.

I have three scenarios to complete before I move on to module 27, so it might be some time before I get to that. On the other hand it may just become apparent and I’ll finish all three in a few hours.

I have still two faults to find and three fault codes to rectify, so I am going to sign off for now I might do an update during the week when I complete all three.

To see a photo of how Cliff got on with his electrical scenarios, and to see an exclusive offer for Train4TradeSkills students, go to his blog at www.plumbing-student.blogspot.com

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on June 15, 2011, in plumbing, plumbing courses, plumbing jobs, Plumbing News, train4tradeskills and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hello, sorry to be a pain, i am doing the electrical scenario and i am going through the house and finding all the dangers etc but i am not sure what codes they come under, say for example theirs a broken light switch, what code is that and so on, thanks for your time

Leave a Reply

