Train4TradeSkills Radio: Teroy talks to us about his plumbing training

So Teroy, what were you doing before Train4TradeSkills?
Actually at the moment I’m a warehouse operative Level 3. I’m full time.
How are you finding balancing the job around your course then?
It’s alright with my course actually, I balance it with my own time so I have to cut down family time and sleeping time and fit in my course time.
You are training to be a plumber then. Have you always been interested in plumbing?
To be honest when I left school I used to do cabinet making /carpenter. When I came to England in 2001, I couldn’t find myself a job in that kind of role really, it was mostly production line, so I went for production line kind of work. 
But I always wanted to find something I can do physically for myself, because I’m a physical person and want a hands-on job. My colleagues saw the course come up and said I should try this. First off it wasn’t really that I want to be a plumber, but when I looked into it, that’s what I want for me.
So you are on your practical training at the moment – how are you finding it?
I’m finding it well good actually, well informative and very useful.
You are on your 7th week I understand. What are you doing this week then?
This week we are doing gas installation. Basically we’re talking about different wires and getting to know what they look like and the paperwork as well through, because picture wise and physical wise are totally different aspects of getting the knowledge into your brain. At the moment we are going to see what they look like and stuff like that.
As well as your practical training, are you doing any plumbing work or getting any practical experience outside your course then?
At the moment I’ve fitted one bathroom suite so far outside of the course, and that’s all I’ve done since.
What are your plans then when you have finished your course?
The plan is I want to try and find a job for 3 years and then venture out on my own when I’ve gained some more physical experience.
Have you got any advice for someone who is wanting to train as a plumber or who is thinking about retraining, have you got any advice for them?

Contact Train4TradeSkills, look into it and see what you want to do and make sure it is for them basically. If they like a hands-on job and love working with tools like I do, then plumbing is a good trade for them.

You can listen to Teroy’s Interview from T4TS Radio at www.train4tradeskills-radio.co.uk or download to iTunes via AudioBoo at www.audioboo.fm/train4tradeskills You can read it all at www.scribd.com/train4tradeskills

About Train4tradeSkills

Train4TradeSkills offer the only trade training skills courses that combine three great ways to learn, through a unique blend of book based theory, practical workshops and virtual reality PC based training, to help you qualify you as a plumber, electrician or gas engineer. No other learning provider offers our unique way to study, with full tutor support, easy to follow, step by step modules. Once you complete one part of the course and return your work for marking, the next stage of the course automatically follows. It’s as easy as that. It’s fun, it’s easy to follow... and it can be fitted around your existing work and family commitments!

Posted on August 3, 2011, in AudioBoo, construction jobs, construction news, t4ts, train4tradeskills, Train4TradeSkills Radio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

